Skip to main content
Chat icon Chat with us live

Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA)

Watch live GMCA meetings

Greater Manchester is the area covered by ten local councils including Tameside. They are:

  • Tameside
  • Bolton
  • Bury
  • Manchester
  • Oldham
  • Rochdale
  • Salford
  • Stockport
  • Trafford
  • Wigan

Around 2.7m live in Greater Manchester's 500 square miles. It has an economy bigger than Wales.

The ten councils have worked together voluntarily for many years on issues that affect everyone in the region, like transport, regeneration, and attracting investment.

Powers and responsibilities

In 2011 the relationship was made official with the formation of the Greater Manchester Combined Authority (GMCA).

The GMCA has formal powers and responsibilities set out in law. The GMCA gives more local control over issues that affect people who live in the area.

 It means the region speaks with one voice and can make a strong case for resources and investment.

Running the GMCA

The GMCA is run jointly by the leaders of the 10 councils and an 'interim' GM mayor. In 2017 there will be a fully elected mayor with more powers and responsibilities.

 A variety of boards, panels and committees look specifically at areas like transport, health and wellbeing, planning and housing.

Monthly GMCA meetings are streamed live over the internet

To watch live or to learn more about the work of the Combined Authority visit

Cookies on the Tameside MBC website

We'd like to use cookies to measure website usage, such as see our most popular pages. We also use some essential cookies on our website to save user settings.

View more information on the cookies we use.